Realising the growing needs of trained manpower in the various fields of Electronics, Government College Mananthavady started this department in the year 1999. This is the only one Electronics department in Government sector under the jurisdiction of University of Kannur. The department currently offers undergraduate degree in Electronics (B.Sc Electronics). The goal and objective of the Department is to impart higher education and ignite research aptitude in the field of Electronics through quality teaching and training.

 The students to the various courses are selected after a transparent selection process based on their merit. The B.Sc Electronics course is conducted in six semesters with lecture classes, laboratory sessions and also with a Project work in the last semester. The curriculum of this course is designed in such a way that after successful completion the students can easily go for higher studies, industrial jobs and in entrepreneur roles. Our alumni are currently employed in various Electronics, IT industries, and in reputed academic institutions.

The teaching is imparted by well trained faculty members who have gained reputation in their fields of research. The faculty members have experience of working in other National and foreign laboratories, R&D industries and has obtained substantial knowledge in the modern developments in Electronics. The department is organizing National seminars/workshops in the areas of Electronics and Photonics Technologies. The classes are conducted in Wi-Fi enabled  smart class rooms. The department is also having a well equipped Electronics laboratory with all modern instruments to cater the need of undergraduate education in Electronics. The faculty members are regularly publishing research findings in international journals and conference proceedings. Details of our scholastic output are summarized below.


Research Publication type

No. of publications



1 US patent (Another patent is under process)


International journals



National/International conferences






The faculty members are engaged in research in the frontier areas of Electronics such as Microwave antennas, Fiber based sensors etc. They also serve in the editorial boards of international journals such as IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, International Journal of Antennas & propagation and in board of studies of various Universities in Kerala. The faculty members have strong research relations with foreign universities and government research centres in India.

Programme offered

B. Sc. Electronics with Physics and Mathematics

·         Duration

6 semesters

·         Eligibility

Plus Two or equivalent programme

·         Number of seats



Our Faculty Members

Faculty for the Core courses

Dr. Rohith K. Raj, (M.Sc Ph.D., Post doctoral fellowship), Head of the Department. 

Specialisation: Microwave Electronics & Electromagnetic Theory

Dr.Linesh J., (M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D, NET), Assistant Professor.

Specialisation: Photonics,Optical Fiber Sensors, Embedded Systems

Dr. Anish Kumar M S(MSc, Ph.D, NET), Assistant Professor. 

Specialisation: Digital Image Processing, Embedded Systems, Digital Signal Processing

Faculty for the Complementary courses

Miss. Deeshma M P, Assistant Professor & Head, Department of Mathematics    MSc, NET.

Mr. Sreejith  T. Assistant Professor  & Head, Department of Physics   M.Sc, M. Tech, NET.



Transgressing the Boundaries: Literature and History

Research articles are invited for the National Seminar on "Transgressing the Boundaries: Literature and History", Organized by the Department of English, Sponsored by Dep...

College Union Election 2018-19

College Union Election 2018-19 Results Announced...

Revised Accreditation Framework of NAAC: A Rejuvenation of HEIs

Govt. College Mananthavady Organizes a one day workshop on "Revised Accreditation Framework of NAAC: A Rejuvenation of HEIs"...

CINEPHILIA - Inter Department Short Film Competition

Inter Department Short Film Competition Organized by Film Club & Asadi College Union...

Inauguration of new Academic block, Library, Heritage Museum and Open Auditorium

Dr. K.T. Jaleel, Hon. Minister for Higher Education Inaugurated the new Academic block, Library, Heritage Museum and Open Auditorium on 09/07/2019...

See More


"Into Plato's Cave", A Course in Film Appreciation, Organized by Department of English and Supported by IQAC....

National Seminar on "Transgressing the Boundaries: Literature and History", Organized by the Department of English, Sponsored by Department of Collegi...

See More